European Journal of Chemistry

Synthesis of dihydrooxazoylarylisoxazoles by conventional and under microwave conditions

Main Article Content

Parikibanda Venkata Ramana
Annadi Ram Reddy


The synthesis of series of 3-aryl-4-dihydrooxazolyl-5-methyl trisubstituted isoxazoles (VI) is reported, both under thermal and microwave conditions starting from various benzaldehydes (I). Benzaldehydes undergo oximation with hydroxylamine hydrosulphate to provide oximes that upon chlorination, followed by condensation with methylacetoacetate, resulted in the formation of esters. Hydrolysis of the esters to acids followed by treatment with PCl5, resulted in the formation of acid chlorides (III) that upon reaction with hydroxyamines, gave N-β-hydoxyalkyl amides (IV). These on further reaction with SOCl2, followed by cyclization with 2 N NaOH provided oxazoline substituted isoxazoles (VI) in good yields. The conversion acid chlorides (III) to isoxazoles (VI) was also achieved by microwave irradiation in moderate to excellent yields, with shorter reaction times compared to the conventional thermal method.


icon graph This Abstract was viewed 1556 times | icon graph Article PDF downloaded 759 times

How to Cite
Ramana, P. V.; Reddy, A. R. Synthesis of Dihydrooxazoylarylisoxazoles by Conventional and under Microwave Conditions. Eur. J. Chem. 2011, 2, 300-307.

Article Details

Crossref - Scopus - Google - European PMC

[1]. Santos, M. M. M.; Natalia, F.; Jim, I.; Simon, C. J.; Michael, H. B.; Martins, M. L.; Rui, M. Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett. 2010, 20, 193-195.

[2]. Reddy, C. S.; Nagaraj, A. Heterocycl. Commun. 2008, 14, 289-294.

[3]. Al-Omran, F.; El-Khair, A. A. J. Heterocycl. Chem. 2005, 42, 307-312.

[4]. Hikmet, A.; Selahaddin, G.; Fatma, B.; Sema, K.; Fatma, K.; Nathaly, S.; Vasyl, K.; Anatholy, D. Bioorg. Med. Chem. 2007, 15, 2322-2333.

[5]. Patrizia, C.; Lars, N.; Seema, M.; Anders, H. Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett. 2004, 14, 5997-6000.

[6]. Banerjee, M.; Azam, M. A.; Sahu, S. K. J. Chem. Pharm. Sci. 2009, 2, 35-37.

[7]. Karabasanagouda, T.; Vasudeva, A. A.; Girisha, M. Indian J. Chem., Sect. B 2009, 48B, 430-437.

[8]. Subash, V.; Michael, B.; Reaz, U.; Baojie, W.; Scott, F. G.; Pavel, P. A. J. Med. Chem. 2008, 51, 1999-2002.

[9]. Tao, L.; Xiaowu, D.; Na, X.; Rui, W.; Qiaojun, H.; Bo, Y.; Yongzhou, H. Bioorg. Med. Chem. 2009, 17, 6279-6285.

[10]. Taek, H. Y.; Kyung, K. E.; Ae, K. E.; Seon, K. E.; Kyong, K. D.; Young-Ger, S.; Hoon, M. K. Bull. Korean Chem. Soc. 2009, 30, 779-780.

[11]. Zhang, C.-Y.; Bao-Lei, W.; Xing-Hai, L.; Yong-Hong, L.; Su-Hua, W.; Zheng-Ming, L. Heterocycl. Commun. 2008, 14, 397-404.

[12]. Yu-Xiu, L.; Zhi-Peng, C.; Bin, L.; Bao-Li, C.; Yong-Hong, L.; Qing-Min, W. J. Agric. Food Chem. 2010, 58, 2685-2689.

[13]. Yu-Han, Z.; Rong, M. W.; Bai, C. L. Chin. Chem. Lett. 2003, 14, 897-900.

[14]. Soni, A. K.; Krupadanam, G. L. D.; Srimannarayana, G. Arkivoc, 2006, 16, 35-42.

[15]. Egan, J. A.; Nugent, R. P.; Filer, C. N. J. Radioanal. Nucl. Chem. 2009, 279, 935-936.

[16]. Victor, K. E.; Anatoly, A. G.; Muratov, E. N.; Volineckaya, I. L.; Makarov, V. A.; Olga, R. B.; Peter, W.; Michaela, S. J. Med. Chem. 2007, 50, 4205- 4213.

[17]. Yoon-Suk, L.; Byeang, H. K. Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett. 2002, 12, 1395-1397.

[18]. Ryng, S.; Gtowiak, T. J. Chem. Crystallogr. 1998, 28, 373-378.

[19]. Liu, B.; Liu, G.; Xin, Z.; Serby, M. D.; Zhao, H.; Schaefer, V. G.; Falls, H. D.; Kaszubska, W.; Collins, C. A.; Sham, H. L. Bioorg. Med. chem. Lett. 2004, 14, 5223-5226.

[20]. Gordon, C. G.; Charles, E. R.; Robert, G. A.; Hilary, J. A. Tetrahedron Lett. 2006, 47, 2245-2247.

[21]. Sunel, V.; Ciovica, S.; Asandei, N.; Soldea, C. Cell. Chem. Technol. 1995, 29, 11-15.

[22]. Jacques, B. J.; Isabelle, F.; Christian, J.; Michel, L.; Alain, C. Arch. Pharm. 1994, 327, 187-192.

[23]. Ara, K. S.; Fatima, K. N.; Shashikanth, M. Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett. 2008, 18, 4597-4601.

[24]. Padmavathi, V.; Reddy, K. M.; Dinneswara, G.; Padmaja, A. Eur. J. Med. Chem. 2010, 45, 3178-3183.

[25]. Rameshwar U. K; Archana, C.; Nilanjan, R. Bioorg . Med. Chem. Lett. 2007, 17, 861-868.

[26]. Mikko, M. J.; Heikki, K.; Antti, K. O.; Maija, L. K.; Susanna, S. M.; Antti, P.; Koskinen, A. M. P. Eur. J. Med. Chem. 2009, 44, 4179-4191.

[27]. Kunal, R.; Somnath, P. QSAR Comb. Sci. 2009, 28, 406-425.

[28]. Markus, H.; Sebastian, W.; Alexander, S.; Florian, P.; Peter, K.; Oliver, R. Tetrahedron: Asym. 2010, 21, 1194-1198.

[29]. Keisuke, K.; Satoshi, M.; Tomoyuki, M.; Takuya, K.; Hiroyuki, A. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. 2009, 48, 3326-3328.

[30]. Mazuela, J.; Verendel, J. J.; Mercedes, C.; Schaffner, B.; Borner, A.; Andersson, P. G.; Pamies, O.; Dieguez, M. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2009, 131, 12344-12353.

[31]. Yasuhiro, I.; Nobumasa, A.; Miki, H.; Toshihiro, H.; Rikako, K. WO 037271, 2005, Chem. Abstr. 142, 430265.

[32]. Nelson, J. K.; Burns, T. C.; Smith, P. M.; Twamley, B.; Natale, N.R. Tetrahedron Lett. 2008, 49, 3078-3082.
PMid:21103024 PMCid:2988249

[33]. Zhi-wei, C.; Wei-hua, Y.; Wei-ke, S. Zhongguo Xiandai Yingyong Yaoxue 2008, 25, 308-309, Chem. Abstr. 150, 539604.

Supporting Agencies

Most read articles by the same author(s)

Dimensions - Altmetric - scite_ - PlumX

Downloads and views


Download data is not yet available.


Metrics Loading ...
License Terms

License Terms


Copyright © 2024 by Authors. This work is published and licensed by Atlanta Publishing House LLC, Atlanta, GA, USA. The full terms of this license are available at and incorporate the Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial (CC BY NC) (International, v4.0) License ( By accessing the work, you hereby accept the Terms. This is an open access article distributed under the terms and conditions of the CC BY NC License, which permits unrestricted non-commercial use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited without any further permission from Atlanta Publishing House LLC (European Journal of Chemistry). No use, distribution, or reproduction is permitted which does not comply with these terms. Permissions for commercial use of this work beyond the scope of the License ( are administered by Atlanta Publishing House LLC (European Journal of Chemistry).